Sondheim's most romantic comedy—a masterpiece.

A Little Night Music.jpg

Jan 23 - Mar 10, 2019
Ritz Theater

Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
Book by Hugh Wheeler
Orchestrations by Jonathan Tunick
Suggested by a Film by Ingmar Bergman
Originally Produced and Directed on Broadway by Harold Prince

Directed by Peter Rothstein
Music Direction by Jason Hansen
Choreography by Heidi Spesard-Noble
Starring Sally Wingert and Mark Benninghofen

Features an all-star cast including Grace Chermak, Bradley Greenwald, Elizabeth Hawkinson, Susan Hofflander, Riley McNutt, Rodolfo Nieto, Britta Ollmann, and Mabel Weismann.

Part comedy of manners, part battle of the sexes, this funny, elegant work inspired by Ingmar Bergman’s period film Smiles of a Summer Night explores the tangled web of affairs centered around leading actress Desirée Armfeldt. Winner of multiple Tony Awards including Best Musical, A Little Night Music features a romantic score, set entirely in 3/4 time signatures, including Sondheim’s most popular song “Send in the Clowns.”

Runtime: 2 hours 25 mins. including intermission.
Please note: Contains adult content and gunshot sound effect.


Theater Latté Da is grateful for the generosity of our Production Sponsors, Kathy and Allen Lenzmeier.


PS = Post Show Discussion
ASL/AD Performance is Thursday, February 7 at 7:30 pm. Reduced price tickets are available for $17.50 for ASL/AD patrons and one guest. Please call 612-339-3003 to purchase.


Production Photos


Crystalline in its storytelling and flat-out gorgeous to behold.
— The Pioneer Press
Theater Latté Da hits all the right notes.
— City Pages
As perfect a production of A Little Night Music as you are likely ever to find.
— Talkin' Broadway

Photos by Dan Norman


Rehearsal Photos

Photo credit Emilee Elofson

Scenic Design


Scenic design by Joel Sass



Jason Hansen, Music Director/Piano
Greg Angel, Double Bass
Carolyn Boulay, Violin
Mark Henserson, Woodwinds
Joe Englund, Cello


Production Team

Peter Rothstein, Director
Jason Hansen, Music Director
Heidi Spesard-Noble, Choreographer
Sara Ochs, Assistant Director
Elissa Adams, Dramaturg
Joel Sass, Scenic Designer
Rich Hamson, Costume Designer
Marcus Dilliard, Lighting Designer
C. Andrew Mayer, Sound Designer
Tiffany K. Orr, Stage Manager
Amanda K. Bowman, Assistant Stage Manager
Bethany Reinfeld, Technical Director
Abbee Warmboe, Properties Master
Paul Bigot, Hair & Wig Designer
Dakota Blankenship, Asst. Costume Designer
Tiffany Klem, Wardrobe
Angelique Powers, Scenic Charge
Micayla Thebault-Spieker, Master Electrician
Nicholas Tranby, Audio Engineer
Lydia Wagner, Stage Manager Intern
Followspot Operators: Katie McLean, Wesley Cone

Electricians: Jeremy Ellarby, Claudia Errickson, Nick Fettig, Garvin Jellison, Grant E. Merges, Karin Olson, Joe Vaske

Drapers: Susan Fick, Barb Portinga, Milly Oudoff,
Rebecca Karlsted

Stitchers: Jen Haggerman, Lillian Lee, Yelena Rowen,
Dakota Blakenship

Painters: Josie Everett, Jeni Tolifson, Stefanie Darby